1.1.E.230 External territory


This definition applies to all payments.


An external territory is a territory which is NOT an internal territory. Internal territories are the:

  • Australian Capital Territory,
  • Jervis Bay Territory, AND
  • Northern Territory.

The following territories are all part of Australia and are NOT external territories for social security purposes:

  • the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands,
  • the Territory of Christmas Island,
  • Lord Howe Island,
  • Macquarie Island, and
  • Norfolk Island.

For social security law purposes, Heard and McDonald, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Coral Sea Islands and Australian Antarctic Territory are Australia's external territories.

Note: Prior to 1 July 2016, Norfolk Island was an external territory and not classed as part of Australia for social security purposes.

Act reference: SSAct section 23(1)-'external Territory'

Last reviewed: 1 July 2016