Former Residents - Agreement with Cyprus

Former residents

Without an Agreement, SSAct section 1220(1) provides that former residents who return to Australia, are granted a benefit, then subsequently leave within 2 years, will no longer be entitled to that benefit.

The Agreement effectively overcomes this restriction for former residents who return to Australia and claim a benefit under the Agreement and subsequently leave Australia within 24 months to live in Cyprus, or a third country (

Autonomous pensioners can transfer to a benefit paid under the Agreement with Cyprus to maintain qualification and portability if they travel to Cyprus.

In both cases, the Agreement will determine the rate payable.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 11 Cyprus

SSAct section 1220(1) No portability when claim based on short residence

Last reviewed: 16 May 2016