People Who Travel to a Third Country - Agreement with Denmark

Third country portability

Article 5 of the Agreement restricts the payment of Agreement pensions to people who are residing in either Australia or Denmark. This means that people who are outside Australia or Denmark cannot continue to receive an Agreement benefit.

Example: A person who lives in Australia and receives an Australian age pension under the Agreement who travels to Indonesia will no longer be entitled to receive that payment. Similarly, a person who resides in Denmark and receives a benefit under the Agreement will cease to qualify for that payment if they travel to Norway.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 12 Denmark

Last reviewed: 20 March 2015