Former Residents - Agreement with Denmark

Former residents

SSAct section 1220(1) provides that former residents who return to Australia, are granted a benefit, then subsequently leave again within 2 years, will no longer be entitled to that benefit.

Accordingly, former residents who return to Australia and claim a benefit under the Agreement can subsequently leave Australia within 2 years and retain qualification provided they travel to Denmark.

Autonomous pensioners can transfer to a benefit under the Agreement with Denmark to maintain qualification and portability if they travel to Denmark.

In both cases, the Agreement will determine the rate payable.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 12 Denmark

SSAct section 1220(1) No portability when claim based on short residence

Last reviewed: 20 March 2015