People Who Travel to a Third Country - Agreement with Belgium

Third country portability

Article 5 of the Agreement provides that Australian pensions paid under the Agreement may be paid to people who travel to a third country if those pensions are payable in third countries under domestic legislation.

Article 5(4) provides that if time limitations apply to people who leave Australia, then those same time limitations apply to people who leave Belgium.

See 7.1 for information on portability of pensions paid to people under the Agreement who leave Belgium or Australia, temporarily or permanently, and travel to a third country.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 18 Belgium

Policy reference: SS Guide 7.1 Conditions for payment outside Australia

Last reviewed: 2 January 2019