Ceduna & Surrounding Region


Ceduna and Surrounding Region became a trial area for the Cashless Debit Card Trial from 15 March 2016. The trial will run in this trial area until 30 June 2019. Ceduna and Surrounding Region are areas for the purposes of the definition of the trial area under SS(Admin)Act subsection 124PD(1).

Anyone whose usual place of residence was in the Ceduna and Surrounding Region, as at 15 March 2016, or who moves into Ceduna and Surrounding Region after this time, and receives a trigger payment, will become a trial participant unless they are exempted (

Once a person is a trial participant, they will remain on the trial, even if they move out of the trial area.

Act reference: SS(Admin)Act section 124PD(1) Definitions


Ceduna is defined as the area of the District Council of Ceduna defined in accordance with the Local Government Area Act 1999 (SA). This area is commonly referred to as the Ceduna local government area.

Surrounding Region

Surrounding Region is defined as the area composed of and limited to the ABS' 2011 Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Statistical Area Level 1s (SA1) of 40601113409, 40601113410, 40601113501 and 40601113502.

This description identifies areas in South Australia west of Ceduna and south of the APY lands.

As at 15 March 2016, the Surrounding Region includes the communities of Bald Hill, Betts Corner, Bookabie, Border Village, Bulinda, Cactus Beach, Ceduna, Ceduna Town Camp, Charra, Chundaria, Colona, Coorabie, Cungena, Denial Bay, Dinah Line, Emu Farm, Fowlers Bay, Glen Boree, Head of the Great Australian Bight, Kalanbi, Koongawa Dundee, Koonibba, Laura Bay, Lookout Hill, Maralinga, Maltee, Merghiny, Mudamuckla, Munda Munda Wata Tjina, Munda Wanna-Mar, Nadia, Nanbona, Nanwoora, Nullarbor, Nundroo, Nunjikompita, Oak Valley, Over Road, Penong, Pintumba, Scotdesco, Smoky Bay, Tallowon, Thevenard, Tia Tuckia, Uworra, Wandana, Warevilla, Watraba, White Well Corner, Yalata, Yarilena, Yellabinna and Yumbarra.

Last reviewed: 4 February 2019