East Kimberley


East Kimberley became a trial area for the Cashless Debit Card Trial from 26 April 2016. The trial will run in this trial area until 30 June 2019. East Kimberley and the areas of each of the Included Communities are an area for the purposes of the definition of trial area under SS(Admin)Act subsection 124PD(1).

Anyone whose usual place of residence was in the East Kimberley region, as at 26 April 2016, or who moves into the East Kimberley region after this time, and receives a trigger payment will become a trial participant unless they are exempted (

Once a person is a trial participant, they will remain on the trial, even if they move out of the trial area.

Act reference: SS(Admin)Act section 124PD(1) Definitions

East Kimberley

East Kimberley is the area composed of and limited to the ABS' 2011 Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Statistical Area Level 1s (SA1) of 5120808, 5120810, 5120802, 5120805, 5120801, 5120807, 5120815, 5120812, 5120814, 5120816, 5120818, 5120811 and 5120817. It includes the towns of Kununurra and Wyndham.

Included Communities

Included Communities are the communities listed in Social Security (Administration) (Trial Area - East Kimberley) Determination 2016 Schedule 1 as in force on 26 April 2016, including the main name of each community, and various alternative names.

These are Alligator Hole, Bell Springs, Cockatoo Springs, Dingo Springs, Four Mile, Geboowama, Gulberang, Hollow Springs, Ngulwirriwirri, Red Creek, Dillon Springs, Wuggabun, Woolah, Glen Hill, Munthanmar, Mud Springs and Miniata.

Last reviewed: 4 February 2019