The Guides to Social Policy Law is a collection of publications designed to assist decision makers administering social policy law. The information contained in this publication intended only as a guide to social security payments. The information is accurate as at the date listed at the bottom of the page, but may be subject to change. To discuss individual circumstances please contact Services Australia. Ceduna & Surrounding Region


Ceduna and Surrounding Region commenced Cashless Debit Card arrangements on 15 March 2016. The program is currently scheduled to operate until 31 December 2022.

Anyone whose usual place of residence was in the Ceduna and Surrounding Region, as at 15 March 2016, or who moves into Ceduna and Surrounding Region after this time, and receives a trigger payment, will become a program participant unless they are exempted (

Once a person is a program participant, they will remain on the program, even if they move out of the program area.

Act reference: SS(Admin)Act section 124PD(1) Definitions


Ceduna is defined as the area of the District Council of Ceduna in the Social Security (Administration) (Declared income management areas - Ceduna and Surrounding Region) Determination 2014. This area is commonly referred to as the Ceduna local government area.

Surrounding Region

Surrounding Region is defined as the area composed of and limited to the ABS' 2011 Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Statistical Area Level 1s (SA1) of 40601113409, 40601113410, 40601113501 and 40601113502.

This description identifies areas in South Australia west of Ceduna and south of the APY lands.

As at 15 March 2016, the Surrounding Region includes the communities of Bald Hill, Betts Corner, Bookabie, Border Village, Bulinda, Cactus Beach, Ceduna, Ceduna Town Camp, Charra, Chundaria, Colona, Coorabie, Cungena, Denial Bay, Dinah Line, Emu Farm, Fowlers Bay, Glen Boree, Head of the Great Australian Bight, Kalanbi, Koongawa Dundee, Koonibba, Laura Bay, Lookout Hill, Maralinga, Maltee, Merghiny, Mudamuckla, Munda Munda Wata Tjina, Munda Wanna-Mar, Nadia, Nanbona, Nanwoora, Nullarbor, Nundroo, Nunjikompita, Oak Valley, Over Road, Penong, Pintumba, Scotdesco, Smoky Bay, Tallowon, Thevenard, Tia Tuckia, Uworra, Wandana, Warevilla, Watraba, White Well Corner, Yalata, Yarilena, Yellabinna and Yumbarra.

Last reviewed: