The Guides to Social Policy Law is a collection of publications designed to assist decision makers administering social policy law. The information contained in this publication intended only as a guide to social security payments. The information is accurate as at the date listed at the bottom of the page, but may be subject to change. To discuss individual circumstances please contact Services Australia. East Kimberley


The East Kimberley Region commenced Cashless Debit Card arrangements on 26 April 2016. The program is currently scheduled to operate until 31 December 2022.

Anyone whose usual place of residence was in the East Kimberley Region, as at 26 April 2016, or who moves into the East Kimberley Region after this time, and receives a trigger payment will become a program participant unless they are exempted (

Once a person is a program participant, they will remain on the program, even if they move out of the program area.

Act reference: SS(Admin)Act section 124PD(1) Definitions

East Kimberley

East Kimberley is the area composed of and limited to the ABS' 2011 Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Statistical Area Level 1s (SA1) of 5120808, 5120810, 5120802, 5120805, 5120801, 5120807, 5120815, 5120812, 5120814, 5120816, 5120818, 5120811 and 5120817. It includes the towns of Kununurra and Wyndham.

Included Communities

Included Communities are the communities listed in Social Security (Administration) (Trial Area - East Kimberley) Determination 2016 Schedule 1 as in force on 26 April 2016, including the main name of each community, and various alternative names.

These are Alligator Hole, Bell Springs, Cockatoo Springs, Dingo Springs, Four Mile, Geboowama, Gulberang, Hollow Springs, Ngulwirriwirri, Red Creek, Dillon Springs, Wuggabun, Woolah, Glen Hill, Munthanmar, Mud Springs and Miniata.

Last reviewed: