People Who Travel to a Third Country - Agreement with Malta

Third country portability

Under Article 13 of the former Agreement with Malta benefits paid under the Agreement may be paid indefinitely to people who travel to a third country. This means that people being paid a benefit under the Agreement with Malta can travel to a third country without the usual time restrictions that apply to autonomous benefits.

Under the current Agreement benefits, other than Age, for people who travel to third countries are only payable for the same period as domestic legislation.

See 7.1 for information on portability of benefits paid to people under the Agreement who leave Malta or Australia, temporarily or permanently, and travel to a third country.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 6 Malta

Policy reference: SS Guide 7.1 Conditions for payment outside Australia

Last reviewed: 2 January 2019