People Who Travel to a Third Country - Agreement with Ireland

Third country portability

Article 17 of the Agreement provides that benefits paid under the Agreement may be paid to people who travel to a third country if those benefits are payable in third countries under domestic legislation.

Article 17 also provides that if time limitations apply to people who leave Australia, then those same time limitations apply to people who leave Ireland.

See 7.1 for information on portability of benefits paid to people under the Agreement who leave Ireland or Australia, temporarily or permanently, and travel to a third country.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 8 Ireland

Policy reference: SS Guide 7.1 Conditions for payment outside Australia

Last reviewed: 2 January 2019