Canada's Social Security System

Canada's social security system

Canada's social security system has 3 levels:

  • a residence based system - the Old Age Security System - which provides a monthly pension to most people over age 65 who have lived in Canada for at least 10 years,
  • a contribution based system - the Canada Pension Plan and the Quebec Pension Plan - which provides retirement, disability, survivor and death benefits to people who have contributed to the system, and
  • private savings.

The Agreement with Canada covers payments under the Canada Pension Plan and the Old Age Security System. It does not cover payments under the Quebec Pension Plan.

Act reference: SS(IntAgree)Act Schedule 4 Canada

Last reviewed: 21 September 2015