The Guides to Social Policy Law is a collection of publications designed to assist decision makers administering social policy law. The information contained in this publication is intended only as a guide to relevant legislation/policy. The information is accurate as at the date listed at the bottom of the page, but may be subject to change. To discuss individual circumstances please contact Services Australia.

10.20.100 Norwegian Glossary


This section contains definitions of terms applicable to the Agreement with Norway.

Australian Disability Support Pension

Australian DSP is payable to people under the Agreement provided they are residing in Australia. People residing in Norway who claim, or are in receipt of, DSP must be severely disabled.


For Australia, benefit means age pension and DSP. It includes any additional amount or increase that is payable to, or in respect of, a person who qualifies for that additional amount or increase. RA, PhA, TAL and RAA are also included for people in Australia, but are subject to portability restrictions of the SSAct.


In relation to Australia, legislation means the laws which make up the social security legislation relating to age pension and DSP. In Part II of the Agreement it applies to the Superannuation Guarantee (Administration) Act 1992, the Superannuation Guarantee Charge Act 1992, and the Superannuation (Administration) Regulations.

Period of Australian Working Life Residence

In relation to Australia this means a period of Australian working life residence as defined in the SS(IntAgree)Act, but excludes a period deemed to be a period of Australian residence under Article 16 of the Agreement.

Period of Insurance in Norway

This means a period where a person in Norway has made contributions to the Norwegian social security scheme, or a period of residence as defined by Norwegian legislation.


In relation to Australia this means the Commonwealth of Australia and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Christmas Island.

In relation to Norway this means the Kingdom of Norway, and Svalbard, and Jan Mayen.

Last reviewed: