The Guides to Social Policy Law is a collection of publications designed to assist decision makers administering social policy law. The information contained in this publication intended only as a guide to social security payments. The information is accurate as at the date listed at the bottom of the page, but may be subject to change. To discuss individual circumstances please contact Services Australia. People income managed under the VWPR Measure


A person is subject to income management under the VWPR Measure if, at a particular time:

  • the person is an eligible recipient of a category H welfare payment (
  • the person's usual place of residence is within a specified income management state, territory or area
  • the person is deemed to be a VWPR
  • if the person has a Part 3B payment nominee (, the nominee is not an excluded Part 3B payment nominee (, and
  • the person is not subject to income management under the Supporting People at Risk (11.9) or Child Protection (11.3) Measures, and
  • the person has not chosen to transition to the Cashless Debit Card in the Northern Territory ( and it is before 31 December 2022 (the current legislated end date for the Northern Territory Cashless Debit Card Measure).

Act reference: SS(Admin)Act section 123UGA(1) Vulnerable welfare payment recipients

Policy reference: SS Guide 11.4.2 Identification of a VWPR, Trigger payments for income management, Payment nominees under income management, Excluded Part 3B payment nominees under income management, 11.9 Supporting People at Risk measure, 11.3 Child Protection Measure

Specified states, territories & areas for the VWPR Measure

The following areas are specified income management areas under the VWPR Measure:

State/territory Income managed area
Northern Territory Whole of the Northern Territory
South Australia
  • Playford
  • The Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands (as defined by the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA))
New South Wales Bankstown
  • Rockhampton
  • Livingstone
  • Logan
Victoria Greater Shepparton
Western Australia
  • The Ngaanyatjarra Lands (the shire of Ngaanyatjarraku and the community of Kiwirrkurra, in the shire of East Pilbara)
  • Laverton Shire

Last reviewed: