The Guides to Social Policy Law is a collection of publications designed to assist decision makers administering social policy law. The information contained in this publication is intended only as a guide to relevant legislation/policy. The information is accurate as at the date listed at the bottom of the page, but may be subject to change. To discuss individual circumstances please contact Services Australia. DCLAD (Child) professional questionnaire scoring step 5 - scoring for non-developmentally-linked categories of function


Step 5 scoring of the DCLA professional questionnaire assesses the level at which the child functions in the 2 domains that are not measured against developmental milestones (1.1.D.130). For domains 9 and 10, that is, behaviour (1.1.B.20) and special care needs (1.1.S.240), a different method of assessment is employed.

Calculating the scores

The THP (1.1.T.170) is asked to indicate EACH item on the list that applies to the child.

For these 2 functional domains, the following rules apply:

  • The child obtains a score of +2 for each response marked for

    • M-10k and M-10I in the THP questionnaire, and
    • a score of 1 for each other response in domains 9 and 10.
  • The child cannot obtain a score of less than zero (< 0) for either of these categories.
  • The highest score for behaviour is +6 on the THP questionnaire.
  • The highest score for special care needs is +17 on the THP questionnaire.

The sum of the scores from the THP questionnaire for behaviour and special care needs is carried over to step 6.

Last reviewed: