1.1.A.320 Australia


This definition applies to all payments.


Please refer to the definition of this term in the SSAct.

Australia includes the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands, the Territory of Christmas Island, Lord Howe Island and Norfolk Island.

Note: Prior to 1 July 2016, Norfolk Island was not classed as part of Australia for social security purposes.

Act reference: SSAct section 23(1)-'Australia'

Last reviewed: