The Guides to Social Policy Law is a collection of publications designed to assist decision makers administering social policy law. The information contained in this publication is intended only as a guide to relevant legislation/policy. The information is accurate as at the date listed at the bottom of the page, but may be subject to change. To discuss individual circumstances please contact Services Australia.

1.1.E.230 External Territory


This definition applies to all payments.


For social security law purposes, Heard, McDonald, Ashmore, Cartier Islands, Coral Sea Islands and Australian Antarctic Territory are Australia's external Territories.

Note: Prior to 1 July 2016, Norfolk Island was an external Territory and not classed as part of Australia for social security purposes.

Note: This definition of external Territories does not apply to Part 5.5 of the SSAct in relation to departure prohibition orders.

Act reference: SSAct section 23(1)-'external Territory', section 1260 Meaning of Australia

Acts Interpretation Act 1901 section 2B Definitions

Last reviewed: